top of page

Hong Kong Protesters Are In 'Deep Fear'

(NBC)


College student Naida Lam didn't think much about her digital privacy until June 11.


It was the night before massive protests in Hong Kong against a law that would allow suspects to be extradited to mainland China.


Like many students, Lam, 20, had been using the encrypted messaging app Telegram, participating in group chats that were used to plan and coordinate ahead of the demonstration.


But that night, Hong Kong authorities arrested the administrator of one of the largest of these groups.


For Lam it was a wake-up call.


"When my friends told me that another group's administrator got arrested, immediately I feared that something will happen in the group I was in," Lam said. "I left the group and changed all my privacy settings." Read more

0 comments
bottom of page